God never closes doors…

…he just opens new ones, is an Irish proverb I have carried with me through life.

I have friends that have run coffee businesses in another city of Sweden for a while, and we’ve been talking about doing something together for a long time. Opportunity came with the purchase of a café in Stockholm. No rest for the wicked. I finished my job at Kafe Orion on Sunday night, and started my new job on Monday morning.

It’s a popular joint among locals, with the same ownership (or at least the same style) since 1997. People I know who used to frequent cafés back then (I wasn’t actually one of them, since I was more frequenting bars in those days), says it was a hip place for celebrities to be seen. Sure, there are a lot of “Swedish famous” people (as my American girlfriend points out) there, but mostly it’s a neighborhood café with lunch and coffee.

It’s always a great risk when a popular spot among regulars change hands, cause any change will inevitably be something that is disturbing the eye among those who cherish the traditions. And this is a very conservative area. So you have to add something instead. The decor is dated, the bar flow and communication setting between front- and back of house is really tricky. It’s a rather large venue, so things will have to change to up revenue, and create better service. Sometimes when you’ve run a place a long time, and I’ve seen this in many places, is that you start up with one idea and then gradually change into something else or develop it to meet demand, however you don’t make the necessary changes for the work flow, so you build in quick fix solutions that made sense at the time.

It’s a challenge, and to be honest, I’m quite exhausted from my past 12 months. But if things go well, it can be really really good. It certainly has the potential to find its way back to past glories!

NP: Kate Bush – Running Up That Hill

Leave a Reply

