Down But Not Out

I went down to the crossroads,
Fell down on my knees.
Asked the Lord above for mercy,
“Save me if you please.”

– Robert Johnson

image-6

This summer has been nothing what I planned to be honest. My old self would’ve wanted me to sit around in the sun, drinking beer and do nothing with my life. Go to work, put my head down and just survive. Chance had it differently though. Earlier this year I started my journey towards a straight edge lifestyle. It’s been a hard and rocky road to try and crack the code to what keeps me relapsing into a habit that will kill me in the end? It seems now, finally, I am on my way to a new life. Ironically, the world fell apart around me; all of a sudden our apartment was taken away from us, and then I was facing unemployment. My old self would’ve cracked open another bottle of wine and just crawl up in there and hide. Instead, my meditation practice had me facing the pits, and all of a sudden acceptance made me stronger than I’ve ever been.

I’m at a crossroad in my life, where I am either through with the coffee industry, or have to embrace it fully. To do the latter, I need somewhere to work that understands coffee, competition and still challenges me into growth. I have approached a friend of mine, something I’ve been reluctant of doing due to the fact I never wanted to work with friends since it might do more damage to the relation that good. But in this case, I have nowhere else to go really, if I want to compete and progress, and get to work with the kind of coffee quality that I set out to do when I came to Sweden.

So we’ll see. I hope his response is positive! I have two competitions in me; one for Brewers, and one for Barista. They both demand a lot of attention, and I will do them each one year at a time. Exciting times if my plans goes accordingly. If not, I’ll sneak out the backdoor and vanish forever on my bike.

NP: Cro Mags – Crush the Demoniac

2 thoughts on “Down But Not Out

  1. Greenman says:

    Great to see you focusing on your coffee passion again, I look forward to continuing to follow your journey from afar!

Leave a Reply

