How Low Can You Go

image

It was bound to happen. On paper, my escape from Lanthandelns Espresso was quite interesting. With my personal health cracking up, and a hard time matching my working hours with parenthood, I had to find something else to do. My friend who worked as a chef at Lanthandeln, had recently landed a job at a place with health focus, but with a desire to get the nights working with a fresh menu and interesting drinks. My job would be Front of House, and my friend would set the kitchen straight in the back, and we’d work together with a third person who’d act as the bridge between us and have full responsibility towards the owner.

I’ve had my ups and downs with coffee the past years, and I was looking forward to not take on coffee as my big task to start with, but get a good beer and wine concept going together with the kitchen.

As time went, frustration grew. People working with us couldn’t see the forest because of all the trees. How about this: you get a massive complaint that you haven’t refilled straws for the next morning, but they leave you with dirty wine glasses for the night. One day apparently, the chef had enough and a massive fight broke out. I was called in, and since we were considered a packaged deal, I was out too. I won’t lie; I was seriously relieved. Still, unemployed and soon without a home, things look dire. On the other hand, I am sober and feel better than ever.

NP: Foo Fighters – Low

 

 

Leave a Reply

