Northern Soul

“Same procedure as last year? 

Same procedure as every year, James”

 

A lot of things happened in 2015, some of it written down here on this blog. In last years chronicle over the past year, I touched the subject of my health. I am fairly sure now that I know what my problems are. In fact, they are most likely chemical and can be diagnosed and treated. This is my main goal for 2016 – to get well. One of my targets is to run the famous “Midnattsloppet”, a race in the heart of Stockholm during night time. It will happen in August, and my health focus is to actually be able to go through with this!

I had the opportunity to spend 6 weeks in Barcelona, a city that I adore and plan to move to one day. In the meantime, I am actually focused on moving North though. Umeå is the major city in the North of Sweden, a boom town and a cultural centre. My girlfriend has her roots and family there, and for me I have lots of friends that I would like to get to work with on various projects. One of them is Costas, the pioneer coffee champion who has a wonderful place up there. He works very closely with farmers in Panama, but also with various importers of high degree Speciality Coffee. To me, his presence there is a great pull. But Umeå is also a foodie town, as well as a strong metal and jazz city.

Working with chefs has increased my interest in food and cooking. I’m not claiming to be anything fancy, but the fact that it’s quite easy these days to get fresh produce as well as interesting flavors and textures, has inspired me a great deal. This New Years Eve saw us do a very fun menu that I’ll present in pictures below (pictures by Mattias Eklund), and this is definitely something I will try to develop over time. My dream is to get a hands on training at the Taj Hotel group in India. Dream on dreamer.

 

"Perfect egg, with fenell and raclette fritters, fennel dills, avocado cream and tong rom"

“The Perfect Egg, with fenell and raclette fritters, fennel dills, avocado cream and tong rom”

"Oven baked blue Hasselback potato and saffron grilled carrots with saffron aioli and black tong"

“Oven baked blue Hasselback potato and saffron grilled carrots with saffron aioli and black tong”

"Quinoa balls made with cilantro, sundried tomatoes and Parmiggiano cheese, served on a bed with roasted kale, roasted brussel sprouts, avocado cream, wasabi tong, aioli and lime"

“Quinoa balls made with cilantro, sundried tomatoes and Parmeggiano cheese, served on a bed with roasted kale, roasted brussel sprouts, avocado cream, wasabi tong, aioli and lime”

"Veggie carpaccio:  with sous vide made beetroots, carrots and blue potatoes and cognac and honey grilled beets and a side of raw fried potatoes, aioli, saffron aioli and basil vinegar".

“Veggie carpaccio: with sous vide made beetroots, carrots and blue potatoes and cognac and honey grilled beets and a side of raw fried potatoes, aioli, saffron aioli and basil vinegar”.

"Vanilla and cognac sorbet with fresh mints"

“Vanilla and cognac sorbet with fresh mints”

So, wrapping up my “new year, new me” bullshit, I intend to live life as analogue as possible this year. I recently found myself engulfed in books (fiction) again, which hasn’t happened for a long time. Donna Tartts “The Goldfinch” and John Williams “Stoner” both touched me deeply. I want to get back into photography. I have so much music to make, with so many great people, I don’t know where to start! I am still working on my books. But most importantly, I want to meet people I love to hang out with more often. Catch up with friends I haven’t seen in a very long time, some scattered all over the world (Brazil, England, Australia, Germany, Spain… the list goes on forever), some so close I never get around to actually just hang out. And tea. I wanna drink heaps of tea!

NP: Frank Wilson – Do I Love You (Indeed I Do).

Leave a Reply

