Copenhagen re-revisited

It’s been almost three long years since I last saw Copenhagen from ground, and since I was in the neighbourhood, I didn’t want to be so close yet miss out. Time was an issue, and the budget too, so we opted for one night in the centre of town at a reasonably priced hotel close to the Central Station (and two blocks away from Mikkeler, which we entered and left in about two minutes due to the fact it was jam packed to the rafters).

Upon arrival in the beautiful, yet slightly chilly spring time, we headed to one of my favorite places, Democratic, however since it was Thursday before Easter, nearly everything was closed or just shutting down. We were meeting up with old friend Josh who would arrive shortly after in the capital, so we opted for The Coffee Collective at Torvehallarne. While waiting, we had pintxos and a lovely tempranillo at the tapas bar, feeling very European as Swedes tend to do when they can drink alcohol in a square without any real restrictions (hell, you can even buy real beer at 7 Eleven in Denmark!).

I have to say that, hands down, The Coffee Collective are my favorite coffee company when it comes to design and lay out. I haven’t yet been to the roastery, but as quirky and charming the Jaegersbrogade location is, the slickness of the Torvehallarne and the packaging, the lay out, the whole shebang, is the most impressive in the whole of Europe in my humble opinion. Very Danish, and very great! The coffee was great too, served an espresso first, and then me and Josh opted for a filter each (a Colombian and a Kenyan, both brewed very well). Again, to test the waters of being European, we chose to balance the coffee with some cava from the outdoor bar. How lovely! Then off for some late lunch at Kafe Europa in town, where you can opt for S&H coffee if you want, but I chose the Tuborg Grön instead!

That night, we had Thai food, and had thought of going to Mikkeler, however the place was packed to the rafters, so we bought some beer from the local supermarket, and went home to the hotel and called it a night. The next morning, we had limited time, so we had a hearty breakfast at the hotel, then went for a walk up towards Nyhavn (where all tourists end up sooner or later), cause I wanted to see if Ved Stranden 10 was open. It was. But even more thrilling was the coffee shop next door that I had never heard about; Coffee Lab. The venue was beautiful, non pretentious and warm but with some cool details that made it hipster worthy as well. I had an espresso of the Amaro Gayo, a coffee that is very dear to me. Needless to say, I was very excited about it!

The rest of the day we strolled around the city, looking at wonderful architecture, great design and had a lovely time. Copenhagen seems, to me anyway, very open and embracing still. We ended up having a glass of red at Ved Stranden 10, this time on the curb where they had made their outdoor serving area. Such a stylish place, yet so free from snobbery. Just the perfect pit stop for a wine enthusiast without getting robbed.

I can see myself live in Copenhagen within a couple of years or so. I’ve fallen in love with the city, and I hope it won’t be too long before I come again!

NP: D.A.D. Sleeping My Day Away

Leave a Reply

